100 Independent Smallholders and Developer Were Trained about ISPO Certification Internal Audit.

100 Independent Smallholders and Developer Were Trained about ISPO Certification Internal Audit.

InfoSAWIT, JAKARTA – In the recent days, Yayasan FORTASBI Indonesia, General Directorate of Plantation Ministry of Agriculture, and Mutu Institute did training in Pangkalan Bun, Central Kalimantan on 31 January – 2 February 2023.

The training was #Batch the 3rd after internal audit training for ICS in Siak, Riau Province ran in February 2022, and the training for independent smallholder developers in Belitung ran in November last year.

Chairman of Board of Supervisor FORTASBI, Sutiyana said, FORTASBI declared that every member should follow and join Indonesian Sustainable Palm Oil (ISPO) certification. “It is about how the smallholders could obey the regulation both in our country and in international level,” he said, as in the official statement to InfoSAWIT, Friday (3/2/2023).

He also mentioned, the smallholders would get many advantages after joining ISPO scheme, such as, there would be clearly area borders, right and good cultivation, and improve the environment.

As Chairman of GM KUD Tani Subur, Sutiyana also told, the cooperation was the first one in Kalimantan that got ISPO and Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) certificates in 2018. “Let us together be with the government to accelerate ISPO realization together. Actually, it is not difficult if the smallholders and government would support one to the other,” he said.

The three - day training was about material description for two days. It covered about ISPO principles and criteria for planters, ISPO certification process, ISPO audit technic in ISO 19011:2018 - base; field practice to KUD Tani Subur. The third day was about how to make audit practice report.

Until now there have been 100 trained – men in ISPO audit internal. They consist of 71 independent smallholders and 29 smallholder’s developers. They are in many provinces, such as, Aceh, North Sumatera, South Sumatra, Riau, Jambi, West Kalimantan, Central Kalimantan, and East Kalimantan. (T2)